Close this search box.
Subtotal: $0.00
No products in the cart.

Your one stop shop for all the gun laws in Florida.

If you need to know anything about Florida’s firearm laws your in the right place.

Florida firearms laws operate at the state level and can be described as being accommodating compared to other states. The states policy is “Shall Issue” for a concealed carry license with the licenses being issued to both residents and non-residents. Florida is one of five states that bans open carry although open carry is permitted in some limited situations. The state has full preemption over all gun laws for handguns and long guns.

Florida was one of the first states to introduce a stand your ground law with no duty to retreat which has been widely copied by other states. There is no requirement for background checks on private gun sales or to register firearms.If you reside in Florida you can file your license application at a Fast Track Office. Everything required for your application can be obtained in these offices, letting you complete the process in one trip. All applicants are required to complete a firearms training course.

Florida CCW Quick Facts

Can I carry a weapon in my vehicle?


It is lawful for a person 18 years of age or older to possess a concealed firearm or other weapon for self-defense or other lawful purposes within the interior of a private vehicle, without a license, if the firearm or other weapon is securely encased or is otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use. “Securely encased” means in a glove compartment, whether or not locked; snapped in a holster; in a gun case, whether or not locked; in a zippered gun case; or in a closed box or container which requires a lid or cover to be opened for access.

The Law
790.17 Min. age to transport Firearm 18

Are “No Weapons” signs enforced?


Any “No Firearms” signage in Florida generally does not have the law behind it. Unless, the sign is posted in an area that falls within the Off-Limits law. The area must be specifically stated in the section of law as being off limits.

Even if the law does not backup a “No Firearms” sign you can still be arrested for trespass if you enter the property. So its best to not enter any property with such a sign posted.

Am I required to inform Law Enforcement Officer that I have a weapon?


There is nothing in Florida gun laws that states you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. You are required by law to carry your permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.

The Law

Is “Open Carry” allowed in Florida?


Open Carry is illegal in Florida even if you have a permit/license. Under section 790.25(3)(h)(j)(k) of the Florida statutes there are some limited situations were it is legal to open carry such as traveling to and being engaged in lawful target shooting, fishing, hunting, and camping.

The Law

Am I allowed to carry my weapon in a State Park?


It’s legal to carry in the following areas:

State Parks: YES
State/National Forests: YES
State Game Management Units: YES
Road Side Rest Areas: YES

The Law
State Park Rules

Do I have the Constitutional right to carry a weapon?


“The right of the people to keep and bear arms in defense of themselves and of the lawful authority of the state shall not be infringed, except that the manner of bearing arms may be regulated by law.”

(Art. I, § 8)

CCW Licensing Office Locations

Miami-Dade Regional Office
7743 NW 48th St.
Suite 100,
Doral, FL 33166

(305) 639-3500

Orlando Regional Office
1707 Orlando Central Pkwy,
Suite 150,
Orlando, FL 32809

(407) 888-8700

Fort Walton Regional Office
111 Racetrack Rd. NW,
Unit 111-C,
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547

(850) 344-0300

Plantation Regional Office
7800 Peters Rd,
Suite C100,
Plantation, FL 33324

(954) 308-4040

West Palm Beach Regional Office
400 N. Congress Ave,
Suite 140,
West Palm Beach, FL 33401

(561) 681-2530

Jacksonville Regional Office
7825 Baymeadows Way,
Suite. 123-A,
Jacksonville, FL 32256

(904) 828-3100

Tallahassee Regional Office

1925 Capital Circle, NE
Tallahassee, FL 32308

(850) 245-5498

Tampa Regional Office
4510 Oak Fair Blvd.
Suite 100,
Tampa, FL 33610

(813) 337-5377

North Port Regional Office
4451 Aidan Lane,
Suite 102,
North Port, FL 34287

(941) 240-3160

What is a Title 1 Firearm?

Title I firearms are ordinary rifles, pistols, revolvers & shotguns. Title I firearms can be owned by citizens and can be built by citizens.

Ownership Requirements: Can be owned by anybody who isn’t considered to be a prohibited person by the ATF.

Form Used: The ATF 5300.9 – 4473 Firearms Transaction Record is required if you are purchasing your Title I firearm from a FFL Dealer. Some states allow for person to person transfers.

What is a Title 2 Firearm?

Title II firearms are machine guns, silencers/suppressors/mufflers, short barreled-rifles, short-barreled shotguns, any other weapons (AOW).

Ownership Requirements: Can be owned by anybody who isn’t considered to be a prohibited person but the ATF and receives an ATF approved Tax Stamp back from the ATF.

Forms Used: ATF 5320.1 Application to Make and Register a Firearm, ATF 5320.4 Application for Tax Paid Transfer and Registration of Firearm, and or ATF 5320.5 Application for Tax Exempt Transfer and Registration of Firearm. In conjunction with the aforementioned ATF Paperwork, the purchaser can purchase Title II Firearms as an individual, using a NFA Gun Trust, or as a legal entity.

ATF 5320.1 Application to Make and Register a Firearm – The ATF 5320.1 form is used to make or manufacture a National Firearms Act [NFA] Firearm. This includes the ability to alter the configuration of an existing firearm, to manufacture a NFA firearm yourself or to purchase an already made or manufactured NFA firearm.
ATF 5320.4 Application for Tax Paid Transfer and Registration of Firearm – The ATF 5320.4 form is used to apply for a paid tax stamp and to register a National Firearms Act [NFA] Firearm. NFA Firearms that are registered using this form are already manufactured NFA Firearms that are being purchased from the manufacture, through a Special Occupational Taxpayer Dealer (SOT), or through an individual transfer (person to person, no dealer is involved).
ATF 5320.5 Application for Tax Exempt Transfer and Registration of Firearm – The ATF 5320.5 form is used to apply for a tax exempt tax stamp or a tax exempt transfer of a National Firearms Act [NFA] Firearm. NFA Firearms that are registered using this form are already manufactured NFA Firearms. There are four options to register for a tax exempt tax stamp for a NFA Firearm.

Valid concealed weapon permits in Florida as of March 31, 2020 according to the latest figures from the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.


The information contained on this page is not legal advice but is merely a starting point for your own research. It is up to you to decide what the best course of action is for your circumstances. We are not lawyers, if you’d like individualized legal advice, we’d be happy to refer you to some law practices with known firearm specializations. It is crucial that you understand the law before you carry a firearm. Also, remember that just because a statute may clearly say one thing or another, that doesn’t mean all members of law enforcement know it. That also goes for lawyers and even judges too.